School Board

The Central Lee Community School District will join public education communities throughout Iowa in celebrating School Board Recognition Month this May. Board members are Kim Hasek, Bill Young, Mark Hulsebus, Brock Westfall and Tony Sciumbato.

This school year, the Central Lee Community School District's Board of Education has faced many challenges and decisions by serving during a global pandemic. They have made tough choices that impact the health and safety of students, staff and the school community, while continuing to prioritize student achievement and educational equity.  

“Our school board members spend countless hours working to provide the best possible educational experience for our students,” said Dr. Andy Crozier, Central Lee Superintendent. “They also serve as the corporate board of directors for one of our community’s largest employers. Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way we can say thanks for all they do.”

As elected officials, the Board of Education serves as a link between the Central Lee community and the classrooms. They are responsible for approximately 1,100 students and 150 staff members and serve the communities of Argyle, Donnellson and Montrose.

These elected members create school policy, approve curricula, develop innovative opportunities, and maintain school facilities. Board members must enhance their understanding of state and federal education law; the complexities of school finance, including budgets and taxes; and the importance of maintaining a positive district culture. They spend many hours in board training programs and personal study, while also advocating for public schools with their local legislators.

“Even though we are making a special effort during May to show appreciation for our school board members, we recognize their contributions reflect a year-round effort on their part. They are dedicated individuals who are committed to improving student achievement and to working for the best for all of our students,” Crozier said.